[Skip to Content]

2020 Night of the Stars Virtual Awards

Program & Networking

Honoring Outstanding Local Real Estate Projects and Companies

NAIOP Washington State’s 2020 Night of the Stars Awards showcases the best commercial real estate development projects in Washington State completed between July 1, 2019, and August 1, 2020a period in which we have faced a global pandemic, as well as the effects of new legislation and rapidly evolving municipal planning in our region. The 2020 finalists on the whole reflect major shifts in our region toward affordable, mixed-use housing developments that embody and honor community heritage, as well as the rapid increase in industrial real estate supporting last-mile delivery.

Winners will be announced on Friday, November 6, at our first-ever virtual Night of the Stars. Thanks to new online event software, pre-registered guests will enjoy conversation and camaraderie at their virtual tables online before winners are announced. Learn more about 2020  Virtual Night of the Stars Awards Program.

About the Process

The Night of the Stars Awards Program is a two-step nomination process. From June 1 to July 27, NAIOPWA solicits project and firm nominations online. On August 12, finalists will be notified and receive their presentation date, time(s) and additional details. All finalists have the opportunity to make a presentation to a panel of judges on the mornings of September 10 and 11. Presentations for each project/category will be limited to approximately 5 minutes. Finalists will be announced at the September Breakfast.

2020 Award Categories

  • Affordable Housing Development of the Year
  • Community Impact Development of the Year
  • Developer of the Year
  • High Rise Residential Development of the Year
  • Hospitality Development of the Year
  • Industrial Build-to-Suit Development of the Year
  • Industrial Speculative Development of the Year
  • Mixed-Use Development of the Year
  • Multi-Family Residential Development of the Year: Fewer than 100 Units
  • Multi-Family Residential Suburban Development of the Year: More than 100 Units
  • Multi-Family Residential Urban Development of the Year: More than 100 Units
  • Office Development of the Year
  • Office Interiors of the Year
  • Redevelopment/Renovation of the Year
  • Retail Development of the Year
  • Sustainable Development of the Year

Nomination Requirements

Do you have a great project or company to nominate? Make sure they:

  • Completed project(s) between July 1, 2019 and August 1, 2020. Temporary Certificate of Occupancy or Substantial Completion must be achieved prior to 8/1/20.

  • Are private-sector project(s). Public funding is allowed for the Affordable Housing Development of the Year. Other project types developed with public funding or sponsored by public entities are ineligible.

  • Have at least one NAIOP Washington State member on the team. We have more than 1,000 members and are the fourth-largest chapter nationwide. Click here to see a list of NAIOPWA member companies.

  • Are nominated in just one (1) category. There is no limit on the number of nominations an individual can submit; however, a project can only be nominated once. A nominated project can also be listed in a firm’s Developer of the Year nomination.

Each category will be judged based on the criteria set forth on this website. Please note, NAIOPWA reserves the right to reassign nominations, and to add, amend, or drop categories based on nominations received. Contact info@naiopwa.org with questions or to discuss a project category other than those listed above.

Follow Us Twitter LinkedIn